[Interview] The Galz meet La Carmina

After she starred in DNR‘s Music Video “Rock Princess” we asked Blogger La Carmina for an Interview and she was so nice to take the time and answer our questions.
Now enjoy this interesting Interview with the fabolous La Carmina.

La Carmina, lacarmina, la carmina blog

La Carmina, lacarmina, la carmina blog

1. Please introduce yourself to our readers

Hi, I’m La Carmina! My mission is to share my love of alternative culture and fashion, especially in Japan. I started my blog, http://www.lacarmina.com/blog, in Sept 2007 and it led to wild adventures in travel, television and writing. I’m currently a pop culture & travel TV host for networks like Discovery, National Geographic, Food Network, Travel Channel and more (you can see my reels at http://www.lacarmina.com/pirates). I write for Huffington Post / AOL, where I have a worldwide travel video series, and wrote 3 books on Jpop culture, including “Cute Yummy Time” and “Crazy Wacky Theme Restaurants: Tokyo.” I invite you to visit my site for spooky-cute Harajuku fashion, Goth nightlife, weird subcultures, and Scottish Fold cats. (http://www.lacarmina.com/blog)

2. You recently starred in the Music Video “Rock Princess” from DNR. How was this experience for you & what was your favorite part of the shooting?

When I was growing up, I loved acting and took classes. However, today, I never get a chance to play a character on-screen — TV presenting is different, since you are yourself and report on a topic, rather than pretend to be someone else. So it was a real pleasure to be DNR’s Rock Princess, and be in their music video, which we filmed in Rome! One of the highlights was wearing a glittery, space-disco Vivienne Westwood dress from Luisaviaroma’s designer boutique in Florence. Luisaviaroma (www.luisaviaroma.com) kindly provided the clothing for everyone in the band to wear as well. I think they look amazing, don’t you?

3. How did you & DNR meet?

When Seby joined DNR, I got to know the band. They’ve always been so sweet to me. I first met the members in person in June 2011, and again in January 2012. They showed us around Modena, and we had a wonderful time in Rome together. DNR is as nice as you’d expect!

4. Next to Fashion and Traveling, Music is a big part of your Blog. Which was your favorite musical experience until now?

Music is a big part of my life, and I’m lucky to have seen many of my favorite Visual Kei and Jrock band live, including in Japan. You can see my concert reviews, photos and videos here:
http://www.lacarmina.com/blog/2010/10/jrock-bands-concert-reviews-visual-kei-live-performances-shows-in-tokyo-japan-america/
It’s impossible to pick a single favorite, but I had a lot of fun at the Candy Spooky Theater Halloween show in Tokyo:
http://www.lacarmina.com/blog/2010/11/video-candy-spooky-theater-live-halloween-concert-trick-or-treat-tokyo-japan-visual-kei-horror-band/

5. Would you say that Music influences your Fashionstyle? And if so what would you say are your biggest influences & how do they show in your outfits?

Absolutely, I find inspiration in glam and Visual fashion, makeup and hair. I love the decadent, dark fashion of bands like BLOOD, such as feather collars and long, aristocrat Goth gowns. Mana-sama (of the bands Malice Mizer and Moi dix Mois) inspired my hair for the NOH8 campaign, as you can see in these photos:
http://www.lacarmina.com/blog/category/noh8-campaign/

6. You’re from Vancouver, Canada. How would you describe the Music scene there?

I confess I’m not too familiar with the local music scene… However I love Goth-electronic group Skinny Puppy, and they were formed in Vancouver.

7. Which is your favorite Band/Artist at the moment?

Very hard to name only one. My friend recently gave me a Birthday Massacre CD, and I’ve been playing it nonstop.

8. What would be the best advice you can give young Bloggers that want to follow in your footsteps?

I’d say, don’t try to follow anyone’s footsteps. Carve out your own path and voice, take risks and never be afraid to share your work with the world. Technology changes so quickly that it’s hard to predict what’s next — but young bloggers should try to jump onto the next wave, rather than ride in anyone’s trail.

9. If you could be an animal which one would it be?

Scottish Fold cat, of course! My earless plump yellow kitty, Basil Farrow, is my biggest inspiration. His site:
http://www.lacarmina.com/basilfarrow

10. Please give a short message to our readers

I’ll quote the band Queen: “You can be anything you want to be. Just turn yourself into anything you think that you could ever be. Be free with your tempo be free be free. Surrender your ego be free be free to yourself!”

Don’t forget to follow La Carmina on:

LaCarmina’s Blog
Facebook
Twitter

One thought on “[Interview] The Galz meet La Carmina

Leave a Reply

